The Time Dimension

I went to see the consultant on Thursday and he is very pleased with my progress, so much so that I don’t need to go back for 6 months, hooray.
I had some blood tests done and hopefully they will show everything is as normal as can be.

He seemed to think that the backache that I am experiencing isn’t normal but didn’t offer any opinion as to what may be causing it. I will just see how it goes on.

I have been quite active over the last few days, tiling assistant, dog walker and plasterer! Busy little me!

I can’t complain, three four weeks ago I was on a hospital bed with my wife and sons praying that I pull through. My how fickle life can be.
Don’t wait for the roses they are all around you.

9 thoughts on “The Time Dimension

    • Thank you, its really quite remarkable. Yes, I will be on tablets for life but it’s a small price to pay for still being around to take them.

  1. It’s interesting that you mention about back pain…my husband is really bothered by back pain also since his pancreatoduodenectomy a month ago. Maybe it’s actually pain from the pancreas which was partially removed in the surgery – it’s located behind the stomach towards your back…I did read that back pain might be related to that. A possibility perhaps?

    • Mmm, interesting. I would say its an ache rather than pain, but it can’t be a coincidence that your husband suffers from it too. Other than that how is he doing?

  2. Well, he was just discharged from hospital last Sunday (a week ago) and his first week home has not been good! He developed intense nausea and has been totally miserable! By Thursday (with no improvement and not able to eat or drink hardly anything), I got him in to the family doctor. He concluded that a new medication was the culprit! Since the PD surgery, my husband developed diabetes so while in hospital, he received insulin injections 4 times daily but on discharge, he was switched over to oral pills, “Metformin.” Apparently this medication frequently causes nausea! So, that was discontinued Thursday (and an anti-nausea medication prescribed) so he’s starting to feel better! This evening, he actually felt like eating so my Dad treated him to fresh lobster!!!! He enjoyed it immensely and so far…so good!!! 🙂

    • Oh dear, the poor fella!
      I just realised that your username has changed and it was confusing me. I hope Ron starts to get better now. Have you thought about some kind of acid control tablet? I take 2 omeprazole in the morning and 2 in the evening if I feel bloated.
      I also developed diabetes and have been on two insulin injections daily, but even that seems to be getting better too.

  3. Well, just a brief verbal report a few days ago from the Surgeon. There was a “surprise”…My husband was clinically misdiagnosed with Cholangiocarcinoma prior to the pancreatoduodenectomy surgery but apparently he actually has pancreatic cancer. 😦 Very disheartening as the survival rates are even bleaker for this type of cancer. We have requested a copy of the Pathology Report from the Hospital Medical Records so it may arrive this week by mail…Judy

    • I am sorry to hear that, I was hoping that he was going to be like me and just misdiagnosed and then be clear.
      I do hope they managed to get everything and wish you both well.

Leave a Reply

